450 Dual Sport comparison: Honda vs KTM vs Yamaha

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wolf skaap

Race Dog
Reaction score
Bike
Yamaha XT 660 Z
I'm by no means a pro but I sure am a bike whore by most accounts  :-[

Even though most of my previous enduro bikes were not roadworthy, we still use them for DS:
index.php

https://wilddog.net.za/forum/index.php?topic=134175.0

Using an enduro bike for long DS rides is a mission. Biggest being figuring out which bike best fits your needs and riding style.
For our type multi-day rides with technical sections in the mix, I've eventually narrowed it down to these three bikes:
CRF450x.
crfMedium_zps1c967b72.jpg

Sold it a while ago and it still is my favourite  :thumleft:
Pros:
- Have done over 1200KM trips without an oil change
- Uses no oil on long DS rides
- Stock Suspension is great. Anybody can go fast on an X. The faster you go, the better it works.
- Rigid aluminum frame makes for very precise handling
- Huge bottom and midrange for a 450.
- Rock solid motor
- Frame design makes a valve clearance job a breeze
- Roomy: Seat-to-foot peg distance is good
Cons:
- Airbox is rubbish. Too small with sharp edges ready to shred that new Twin Air filter
- DRD exhaust was moer loud. I hated it!
- It needs tubliss on the front wheel to reduce the harshness of the fork.
- Intake valves are rubbish. It needs SS intake valves = R5000 job
- Carb overflow leaks at random times (even after a carb service and correct float level)
- 5th gear is too short. You have to rev it good and proper on those open stretches (7000rpm)
- Did I mention that the clutch is crap? It's either on or off and you never quite know when it would disengage.
- Power seems to fall on its face too soon

The short 5th made me ultimately replaced the Honda with a
KTM 525
20140705_135139Medium_zps1a5e5972.jpg

Pros:
- Have done over 1200KM trips without an oil change
- Uses no oil on long DS rides