2001 Yamaha YZ125 rebuild/refresh UPDATED

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brinkman

Pack Dog
Reaction score
Bike
AJS (all models)
Good day to you all.  :thumleft: :thumleft:

I bought a little project a while ago in the form of a Yamaha Yz125 and I’m in the process of a rebuilt/refresh of the little beaut.

I’ve been dreaming about a 2 stroke project like this for more than 8 years since the guy opposite the street from me took on exactly the same type of project with a KX250.
Anyway I sold off all of my camera equipment and bought a 2001 Yamaha Yz125 in Langebaan. Was a really nice trip, full of excitement.

Bike wasn’t in as good condition as I thought it would be, but I went ahead and bought it, seeing potential and I was in the mindset of rebuilding the bike I bought in any case.
I must say a MX bike on the back of a Bantam gets a lot of attention! Even had a guy whistle when I drove past!

Broke as can be, but I just had to buy a Red Bull with my last few Randelas for this photo.

Few problems right of the bat. Tank is leaking and with further inspection when I got home unrepairable. Water pump is leaking coolant, power valve linkage rubber dust seal ripped so bottom of motor all covered in oil. Radiators in a state of sadness. SAD SAD! That’s what I knew about at the stage.

Good stuff. Invoices of about R10000 in work done over the last 2 years.

Brand new Mitas (lekker) tyres front and back. New brake pads. New chain and sprockets. Top end redone in December (still waiting on that invoice. Was for R6000.) All gaskets look like new. Bodywork looks ok-ish

So the first day I took my first ride the suspension was dropped as low as it can go and it wasn’t that nice of a ride.

Seat feel and looks terrible. YZ with a broken back almost.

That reminds me of this  :laughing4:

:laughing4: