Goudini Funduro, courtesy of KTM WC

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kamanya

Andrew to most
Staff member
Global Moderator
Reaction score
Bike
KTM 990 Adventure
It really is all about the bike.

While you read, let the video load;

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qkSEqXaaNlA

I had the opportunity to get a taste of enduro riding this last weekend. I have a KTM 950 Adventure that I love riding, it has taken me to places and experiences that has more than fulfilled all the marketing promises. But I have very little experience of riding any other bikes other than a Vespa and later a Yamaha XT 500. I have always wondered what racing would be like, can I do it?

This weekend was an opportunity to try this. It was a funduro and as such is not sanctioned or timed and as was repeatedly mentioned, not a race. It is what it says, all about fun and the experience. Ashley from KTM WC is supporting a great charity - the Sunflower Fund and in a chat about it he offered me the chance to ride an enduro machine, I saw an opportunity to ride a bike and fulfill a dream and to support the charity.

I had asked that they give me the smallest bike as I have absolutely no experience on anything that looks like an MX or Enduro bike. The options were either a 200 two stroke or a 450 four stroke. I am a fat, or lets rather say flourishing 41 year old. My ever optimistic 16 year old ego was rooting loudly for the 450 but the boring adult section of me was being the realist. This meant that I needed to try my hand at this on the lightest bike in anticipation of having to muscle it over the advertised obstacles and through a fruity river section. There was also no doubt that I would have to pick it up every now and then, 200’s are of course easier to pick up than 450’s on a 41 year old.