Noob Progress Report...

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MudCakedFace

Pack Dog
Reaction score
Bike
BMW G650 X-challenge
This will be my first post after the intro a couple of months ago. At the time I was a complete noob, having never ridden a bike (like, never-ever, ever). Three events have seen me go from this precarious state to feeling confident enough to ride a bike in [mild, non-peak] traffic and on pretty much any gravel road a sedan (non-rental of course) can be driven on...

Warning: No pics (Pom might not like what I've done to his project bike  >:D)

Event 1: Buy Appropriate Bike: Check
Having initially dreamt of a KTM 640A, I realised quickly that three things make this a silly choice:
1) It's my first bike
2) I will drop it ::)
3) I will face eternal damnation for all the hashed shifts
So, after harassing the local KTM shop for weeks on end, I decided to find something slightly more appropriate. Call it fluke, call it divine intervention. I call it 'Wilddog Classifieds'. PistolPete decided to sell Pom's project bike, an '85 XT600 Tenere, and was willing to let it fall into my sweaty paws. "Clutch on left, brake on right - clutch on left, brake on right" I thought as I moved it into its designated spot in my garage. And forgot to put the side-stand back down. My ego still hurts when I look at the dent in my lawnmower.

Anycase, PistolPete (awesome guy) shared a couple of beers on the night of the viewing, but failed to mention the 1st trick with kick-starting a big thumper (or any kick-start engine, for that matter). Don't twist the throttle. At all. No, not even when you're at an intersection holding up the traffic... :imaposer: Come to think of it, I really can't blame him for not realising I'm SUCH a noob!

Event 2: Novice Rider Training: Check