“Why you should attend an off-road riding academy?"

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
Bike
BMW F650GS / Dakar
“Why you should attend an off-road riding academy & how to pick the best one for you”

r13.jpg

According to the University of Southern California’s classic Hurt Study, 92 percent of the motorcycle riders involved in accidents have little or no training. Riders involved in accidents usually are self-taught or have learned to ride from a family member or a friend.

Furthermore, 95 percent of the roads in the world are unpaved. This means that if you want to explore the world, then you need to have off-road riding skills – or you'll find yourself confined to a mere five percent of the planet.

Off-road motorcycle accidents can be caused by many things, including:

• Driving hung-over or under the influence of alcohol.
  • Not being able to stop in an emergency situation.
  • Driving with emotional disturbances (e.g., being angry).
  • Fixing a target on the road until you hit it (e.g., staring at a rock).
  • Sitting down when you are supposed to stand up.
  • Not distributing your weight according to the terrain.
  • Using handlebar raisers. (Yes, you read it right! Handlebar raisers can increase the chances of accidents while riding off-road.)

When people ride without the proper training or riding gear, motorcycle accidents can cause broken bones, paralysis and even death.

One motorcycle accident that often comes to my mind is the one of a brave adventure rider Ozymandias, who hit a donkey while driving in Mexico in 2006. He was evacuated to the United States, where he went through extensive spinal cord surgeries. After hundreds of thousands of dollars’ worth of hospital bills, he ended up confined to a wheelchair. A few months later, he could not take his condition anymore and committed suicide. A sad story that always reminds me to take as many precautions as possible.