I guess it had to happen sometime. Just didn't think it would be like this...

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Eisbein

Bachelor Dog
Reaction score
Bike
BMW R1200GS Adventure
Today a week ago a chapter in my life was finished.

I bought some piece of gravel and Sauerkraut is (probably) no more...

:(

Last Tuesday I went out with some friends to go and play a little at the back of Tygerberg hills on a farm.

Nice 4x4 route and a looooong stretch of tweespoor sand. Let me interrupt myself here to say that the sand (thick and soft enough to make your foot dissapear if you put it down) was the thing I worried about, but ended up being the coolest thing of the day. I'm not good with it yet, but I am not afraid of it either - I felt how it feels to open the taps to let the bike run on top of the sand.

Ok - back to the story.

We were on a 4x4 track that was at some stage so steep that if you turn the bike sideways on it the 'pods' of the boxer engine would just about touch the soil while still being upright.

You think I would fall there ?

Nope...

About 2 kilometers of thick sand tweespoor - you would think that would be it ?

Still no.

A loooong steep uphill on loose rocks ?

Negative.

Nooooooo.

This idiot decides it seems like a good idea to put the bike down on the piece of straight road that leads from the sand and onto the tar road.
::)

I was last, KLR ahead, 950SE and 950Adv in front.
So we get out of the sand and I hear the Adv open up, then the SE and then the KLR in front of me.
So I open up a little as well - blip 1st and 2nd.
As I'm about to hook 3rd the dust in front of me opens up to see this mother of a ditch right in front of the front wheel.

Oh shiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiit!

Go into it at about 60 - no time to brake, get up or anything.
So naturally I almost go over the handle bars - no jokes - I was looking down directly on the clocks, my legs above the seat's hight.