So you want to tell your story with a camera?

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kamanya

Andrew to most
Staff member
Global Moderator
Reaction score
Bike
KTM 990 Adventure
Shamelessly stolen from Gregor, a fellow from ADVrider and professional photographer....

https://www.advrider.com/forums/showpost.php?p=10785151&postcount=274

So I’ve gotten a lot of compliments and a few PM’s about my photography and I really appreciate it. I’ve been a professional photographer for my whole life and I still love the craft as there’s always something to learn. A lot have asked for advice or a book or primer to help with your own photography and while I don’t know of a good book I can offer some basic advice so here you go:

Photography is a lot like comedy and real estate: location, location, location and...

...timing!

Okay that's true but more than anything the point of photography is to tell a story. Story telling is how we communicate our world or our experience and stories can be told many ways;  simply, as fiction, with great embellishment or to just get the point across. Photography is the same.

Just like a story the fundamentals are sort of important but once mastered become rather automatic. Spelling or the lack of it can really hamper a story not because of a “rule” but because it ruins the rhythm of a sentence. The equivalent is exposure for photography. The good news, like spell check, is that the current cameras, for all intents and purposes, take care of this for you. It’s a misconception that pros hate auto exposure - when we can use it we do. As an example I shot this whole trip on “program” with few exceptions.